State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program (SLCGP)

Federal Funding Agency:

Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Applicant Eligibility:

All 56 states and territories, including any state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, are eligible to apply for SLCGP funds. Accordingly, the Governor designated State Administrative Agency (SAA) is the only entity eligible to submit SLCGP applications to DHS/FEMA.

Due Date:

Application due: November 15, 2022

Funding Amount:

Each state and territory will receive a baseline allocation using thresholds established in the Homeland Security Act of 2002.

Agency Solicitation:

The goal of SLCGP is to assist SLT governments with managing and reducing systemic cyber risk. For Fiscal Year (FY) 2022, applicants are required to address how the following program objectives will be met in their applications:

Objective 1: Develop and establish appropriate governance structures, including developing, implementing, or revising cybersecurity plans, to improve capabilities to respond to cybersecurity incidents and ensure continuity of operations.

Objective 2: Understand their current cybersecurity posture and areas for improvement based on continuous testing, evaluation, and structured assessments.

Objective 3: Implement security protections commensurate with risk.

Objective 4: Ensure organization personnel are appropriately trained in cybersecurity, commensurate with responsibility.