Second Chance Act Smart Supervision Program

Federal Funding Agency:

Bureau of Justice Assistance

Applicant Eligibility:

State, county, city, township or special district governments; Native American tribal governments (federally recognized); organizing bodies or associations of supervision agencies engaging more than one supervision office, district, or agency

Due Date: Deadline May 15, 2024, 8:59 pm Eastern Application
JustGrants Deadline May 22, 2024, 8:59 pm Eastern

Funding Amount:

Up to $850,000

Agency Solicitation:

BJA seeks to provide grants to jurisdictions to improve outcomes for adults on community supervision. The Second Chance Act (SCA) of 2007 (Public Law 110-199), reauthorized by the First Step Act of 2018, provides a comprehensive response to assist in the transition individuals make from adult confinement facilities (e.g., jails, prisons, detention centers) to their communities so that the transition is successful and promotes public safety. The SCA is designed to help communities develop and implement comprehensive strategies that address the challenges posed by reentry and recidivism reduction.